Umwelt_72.jpg

Environment

We assume ecological responsibility – we make a contribution to the preservation and protection of our environment.

Umwelt169.png

Taking ecological responsibility is a key component of our corporate conduct and a cornerstone of our business operations. We are convinced that we have an obligation to create added value for our customers, employees and investors and to live up to our responsibility towards the environment and society. That is why we are improving our climate and environmental protection measures.

The Volkswagen Group's environmental policy provides the framework for the environmental activities of the brands. For Volkswagen Financial Services, this joint environmental policy means that we align our core business in particular with these principles and thus support the Group in implementing its environmental goals. The environmental policy of Volkswagen Financial Services derived from the Volkswagen Group can be downloaded here.

In addition, the Volkswagen Group has formulated the "goTOzero" environmental mission statement, which gives the Group and its stakeholders a clear strategic orientation. "goTOzero" programmatically stands for an environmentally friendly and balance-sheet CO2-free way of doing business, which the Volkswagen Group has set itself the goal of achieving by 2050.

Rechenzentrum_Rautheim_169_web.jpg
The computer center in Braunschweig-Rautheim (Germany) generates waste heat that is fed into the city's local supply grid.

Systematic sustainability: Volkswagen Financial Services have implemented an environmental management system certified to ISO 14001. On this basis, we record, assess and minimize the environmental repercussions of our business operations. The system helps us to systematically improve our energy and resource balance. In our ultramodern computer center in Braunschweig-Rautheim, the waste heat that is generated is fed into the supply grid of the regional energy supplier and delivered directly to the neighboring residential area. The heating capacity is equivalent to the annual consumption of around 100 single-family homes. Moreover, our buildings and properties only use certified electricity from renewable sources. Our company headquarters in Braunschweig is equipped throughout with charging infrastructure for electric vehicles, which also includes a charging station for e-bikes.

Bürogebäude-Käferweg_web_169.jpg
The office buildings on the street Käferweg (Braunschweig) were designed using the modern, resource-saving BIM method.

Award-winning construction: Volkswagen Financial Services are one of the few companies in Germany to make use of the digital planning and construction method BIM (Building Information Modeling). This technique makes it possible to build more quickly, in a manner less vulnerable to errors, more cheaply, and in a more sustainable fashion. BIM enables the complex structures of a building to be digitally recorded down to the smallest detail and be virtually tested long before construction begins. Potential construction defects are therefore detected before they occur – which also conserves resources. At our Braunschweig location, the German Sustainable Building Council (DGNB) has awarded three new buildings its Sustainable Building Certificates in the platinum and gold categories during recent years. Ecological, economic, socio-cultural/functional and technical aspects are the decisive factors for these awards.

Lichtenmoor_169_web.jpg
Groundbreaking ceremony for the bog re-naturalization of the Lichtenmoor (Nienburg, Germany)

Since 2009 Volkswagen Financial Services have been working together with the German Nature and Biodiversity Conservation Union (NABU) for the protection and ecological restoration of moorland and peatland. Moors play a central role in both climate protection and the preservation of biodiversity. From 2012 to 2020 Volkswagen Financial Services are investing a total of four million euros in the German and International Moor Conservation Fund, which was set up together with NABU. In Germany the funds are currently benefiting 13 national projects. In the international arena, the EU project "LIFE Peat Restore" is also being supported. The joint commitment of Volkswagen Financial Services and NABU has already been recognized with several national and international environmental awards. Moreover, Volkswagen Financial Services are also enabling the re-naturalization of the River Schunter wetland in Braunschweig, which is located close to the company headquarters. The course of the River Schunter is being restored to its original stream. As a result, the diversity of species and biotopes typical to it can be restored.

More Information

Moorland protection

Moorland protection is climate protection: that's why Volkswagen Financial Services have been working with the German Nature and Biodiversity Conservation Union (NABU) since 2009 to ensure the protection and fund the ecological restoration of moorland and peatland areas – both within and outside Germany. It is important to realize that intact moors are one of the world's most important carbon reservoirs.

Umwelt

Umwelt

Wir übernehmen ökologische Verantwortung – wir leisten einen Beitrag zum Erhalt und Schutz unserer Umwelt.

Umwelt169.png

Ökologische Verantwortung zu übernehmen, ist wichtiger Bestandteil und Grundlage unseres unternehmerischen Handelns. Aus Überzeugung sehen wir uns in der Verpflichtung, für Kunden, Mitarbeiter und Investoren einen Mehrwert zu schaffen und unserer Verantwortung gegenüber Umwelt und Gesellschaft gerecht zu werden. Daher verbessern wir die Klima- und Umweltvorsorge.

Die Umweltpolitik des Volkswagen Konzerns gibt den Rahmen für die Umweltaktivitäten der Marken vor. Für die Volkswagen Financial Services bedeutet diese gemeinsame Umweltpolitik, dass wir insbesondere unser Kerngeschäft an diesen Grundsätzen ausrichten und damit den Konzern bei der Umsetzung seiner Umweltziele unterstützen. Die vom Volkswagen Konzern abgeleitete Umweltpolitik der Volkswagen Financial Services steht hier zum Download bereit.

Darüber hinaus hat der Volkswagen Konzern ein Umweltleitbild „goTOzero“ formuliert, das dem Konzern und seinen Stakeholdern eine klare strategische Orientierung gibt. „goTOzero“ steht dabei programmatisch für eine die Umwelt möglichst wenig belastende und bilanziell CO2-freie Wirtschaftsweise, die sich der Volkswagen Konzern bis 2050 zum Ziel gesetzt hat.

Rechenzentrum_Rautheim_169_web.jpg
Das Rechenzentrum in Braunschweig Rautheim (Deutschland) generiert Abwärme für das lokale Versorgungsnetz der Stadt.

Nachhaltigkeit mit System: Die Volkswagen Financial Services haben ein nach ISO 14001 zertifiziertes Umweltmanagementsystem implementiert. Auf dieser Basis erfassen, bewerten und minimieren wir die Umweltauswirkungen unseres Geschäftsbetriebs. Das System hilft uns dabei, die Energie- und Ressourcenbilanz systematisch zu verbessern. In unserem hochmodernen Rechenzentrum in Braunschweig-Rautheim wird entstehende Wärme in das Versorgungsnetz des regionalen Energieversorgers eingespeist und direkt ins benachbarte Wohngebiet abgegeben. Die Leistung entspricht einem Jahresverbrauch von rund 100 Einfamilienhäusern. Darüber hinaus nutzen wir für unsere Liegenschaften ausschließlich zertifizierten Strom aus erneuerbaren Energien. Außerdem ist die gesamte Unternehmenszentrale in Braunschweig konsequent mit Ladeinfrastruktur für Elektrofahrzeuge ausgestattet worden. Hierzu zählt auch eine Ladestation für E-Bikes.

Bürogebäude-Käferweg_web_169.jpg
Die Bürogebäude im Käferweg (Deutschland) wurden mit der modernen ressourcenschonenden BIM-Methode entworfen.

Ausgezeichnetes Bauen: Als eines der wenigen Unternehmen in Deutschland setzen die Volkswagen Financial Services auf die digitale Planungs- und Baumethode BIM (Building Information Modeling). Mit dieser Technik lässt sich schneller, weniger fehleranfällig, günstiger und nachhaltiger bauen. Mit BIM werden die komplexen Strukturen eines Gebäudes weit vor Baubeginn bis ins kleinste Detail digital erfasst und virtuell getestet, sodass potenzielle Baufehler erkannt werden, bevor sie entstehen – das schont auch die Ressourcen. Am Standort Braunschweig hat die Deutsche Gesellschaft für nachhaltiges Bauen (DGNB) in den vergangenen Jahren drei Neubauten mit dem Zertifikat für nachhaltiges Bauen in der Kategorie Platin bzw. Gold ausgezeichnet. Dabei sind ökologische, ökonomische, soziokulturelle/ funktionale und technische Aspekte ausschlaggebend.

Lichtenmoor_169_web.jpg
Spatenstich der Moor-Renaturierung des Lichtenmoors (Nienburg, Deutschland)

Die  Volkswagen Financial Services setzen sich seit 2009 gemeinsam mit dem Naturschutzbund Deutschland e.V. (NABU) für den Schutz und die Renaturierung von Mooren ein. Denn Moore spielen sowohl für den Klimaschutz als auch für die Biodiversität eine herausragende Rolle. Von 2012 bis 2020 investieren die Volkswagen Financial Services insgesamt vier Millionen Euro in den gemeinsam mit dem NABU gegründeten Deutschen und Internationalen Moorschutzfonds. In Deutschland fließt das Geld aktuell in 13 nationale Projekte. International wird das EU-Projekt „LIFE Peat Restore“ unterstützt. Das gemeinsame Engagement von Volkswagen Financial Services und dem NABU wurde bereits mehrfach mit nationalen und internationalen Umweltpreisen ausgezeichnet. Des Weiteren ermöglichen die Volkswagen Financial Services die Renaturierung der Schunteraue in Braunschweig, die sich direkt in der Nähe des Firmensitzes befindet. Der Flusslauf der Schunter wird dabei wieder in seinen ursprünglichen Verlauf zurückgeführt. Dadurch kann sich die typische Arten- und Biotopvielfalt wiedereinstellen.

Mehr Informationen

Moorschutz

Moorschutz ist Klimaschutz: Aus diesem Grund setzen sich die Volkswagen Financial Services seit 2009 gemeinsam mit dem Naturschutzbund Deutschland e.V. (NABU) aktiv für den Schutz und die Renaturierung von Mooren ein – sowohl national als auch international. Denn intakte Moore gehören zu den wichtigsten Kohlenstoffspeichern der Welt.