Gesellschaften2_72.jpg

Portrait Volkswagen Financial Services

Volkswagen Financial Services are a business division of the Volkswagen AG group of companies and comprise Volkswagen Financial Services AG along with its associated companies, Volkswagen Bank GmbH, Porsche Financial Services, and the financial services companies in the USA, Canada, and Spain that belong directly or indirectly to Volkswagen AG – with the exception of the financial services of the Scania brand and Porsche Holding Salzburg.

Within the financial services division, Volkswagen Financial Services AG coordinates the financial services activities of the Volkswagen Group throughout the world and is responsible for the credit business outside the European Economic Area as well as other mobility services. The sister company of Volkswagen Financial Services AG, Volkswagen Bank GmbH, is responsible for lending operations within the European Economic Area. VW CREDIT, INC. conducts financial services activities in North America.

KFC_Teich_web_169_2.jpg
The Volkswagen Financial Services office complex in Braunschweig, Germany


Customer mobility is the core concern at the heart of all Volkswagen Financial Services activities. The brand promise of being "The Key to Mobility" is therefore imprinted in the DNA of all companies that make up the Volkswagen Financial Services division – in 48 markets throughout the world. The key business fields embrace automotive banking and leasing, insurance and services, and solutions for mobility and payment.

Volkswagen Financial Services are currently engaged in a wide-ranging digitalization offensive. The goal is to offer all essential mobility-related services through online channels as well in the near future. Whether for financing or leasing, for insurance, or for services in and around the vehicle and its use – we want to be there where our customers expect us to be.

The mobility industry is also in the midst of fundamental change, which is why Volkswagen Financial Services are moving forward into new business areas. E-mobility, networked vehicles and advances in infrastructure are creating new services that make driving easier and more comfortable. Paying for parking by app is an option that's already possible today with Volkswagen Financial Services in many cities.

Together with the Volkswagen Group, we will play our part in shaping the future as a mobility service provider for our customers that offers innovative and useful products and services. In 2025, too, Volkswagen Financial Services will still be one of the world's leading providers of automotive financial services.

Volkswagen Financial Services have closed the financial year 2020 very successfully despite the coronavirus pandemic. The operating result, which fell to EUR 2.8 billion (-5.3 percent), is the second highest in the company's history. While the number of new contracts acquired worldwide declined by 6.9 percent to a total of 7.9 million units (previous year: 8.5 million units), the portfolio of current contracts rose slightly compared with the previous year to 21.9 million units (+1.9 percent). The total assets of the Volkswagen Financial Services business division amounted to EUR 225.6 billion (+1 percent, previous year: EUR 223.5 billion). olkswagen Financial Services have 16,558 employees worldwide – 7,472 of them alone in Germany.

Volkswagen Financial Services at a glance

    2020 2019 %
Number of Contracts thousands 21,907 21,498 +1.9
     Customer financing   6,635 6,585 +0.8
     Leasing   4,811 4,616 +1.7
     Services   3,985 4,464
+7.8
     Insurance   5,769 5,833 -1.1
Customer Deposits € million 27.734
31.330 -11.5
Total assets € million 225,608 223,536 +0.9
Equity € million 29.406 28,428 +3.4
Equity ratio % 13.0 12.7 +2.6
Return on equity before tax % 8.9 10.8 -17.5
Operating result € million 2,803 2,960 -5.3
Employees at Dec. 31   16,558 16,571 -0.8

Download Factsheet

Factsheet Volkswagen Financial Services
Jan 1, 2019

More Informationen

Gesellschaften2_72.jpg

Portrait Volkswagen Financial Services

Die Volkswagen Finanzdienstleistungen sind ein Geschäftsbereich der Volkswagen AG (Konzern) und umfassen die Volkswagen Financial Services AG mit ihren Beteiligungsgesellschaften, die Volkswagen Bank GmbH, die Porsche Financial Services sowie die direkt oder indirekt der Volkswagen AG gehörenden Finanzdienstleistungsgesellschaften in den USA, Kanada und Spanien – mit Ausnahme der Marken Scania und der Porsche Holding Salzburg.

Innerhalb des Geschäftsbereichs der Volkswagen Financial Services koordiniert die Volkswagen Financial Services AG die weltweiten Finanzdienstleistungsaktivitäten des Volkswagen Konzerns und ist für das Kreditgeschäft außerhalb des europäischen Wirtschaftsraums sowie für sonstige Mobilitätsdienstleistungen verantwortlich. Die Volkswagen Bank GmbH verantwortet als Schwestergesellschaft der Volkswagen Financial Services AG das Kreditgeschäft im europäischen Wirtschaftsraum. Die VW CREDIT, INC. betreibt die Finanzdienstleistungsaktivitäten in Nordamerika.

KFC_Teich_web_169_2.jpg
Bürogebäude Volkswagen Financial Services, Braunschweig (Deutschland)

Im Mittelpunkt aller Aktivitäten der Volkswagen Financial Services steht die Mobilität der Kunden. Das Markenversprechen „The Key to Mobility“ gehört damit zur DNA aller Unternehmen, die zum Geschäftsbereich der Volkswagen Financial Services gehören – und das in 48 Märkten weltweit. Zu den wesentlichen Geschäftsfeldern gehören das automobile Bank- und Leasinggeschäft, Versicherungen und Services, Mobilitätsdienstleistungen sowie Payment-Dienste.

Aktuell befinden sich die Volkswagen Financial Services in einer umfassenden Digitalisierungsoffensive. Ziel ist es, in der nahen Zukunft alle wesentlichen Dienstleistungen rund um Mobilität auch online anzubieten. Egal ob Finanzierung oder Leasing, Versicherungen oder Dienstleistungen rund um das Fahrzeug - wir wollen dort sein, wo es unsere Kunden erwarten.

Auch die Mobilitätbranche ist in einem grundlegenden Wandel, weswegen sich die Volkswagen Financial Services neue Geschäftsfelder erschließen. E-Mobilität, vernetzte Fahrzeuge und Fortschritte in der Infrastruktur bringen neue Dienstleistungen, die das Autofahren komfortabler und einfacher machen. Parkgebühren mit einer App zu bezahlen, das geht mit den Volkswagen Financial Services schon heute in vielen Städten.

Wir werden im Verbund mit dem Volkswagen Konzern unseren Teil dazu beitragen, die Zukunft als Mobilitätsdienstleister für unsere Kunden mit innovativen und nutzbringenden Angeboten zu gestalten. Auch 2025 werden die Volkswagen Financial Services zu den führenden automobilen Finanzdienstleistern gehören.

Die Volkswagen Finanzdienstleistungen haben das Geschäftsjahr 2020 trotz der Corona-Pandemie sehr erfolgreich abgeschlossen. Das auf 2,8 Mrd. Euro (-5,3 Prozent) gesunkene Operative Ergebnis ist das Zweithöchste der Unternehmensgeschichte. Während die weltweiten Neuvertragszugänge um 6,9 Prozent auf insgesamt 7,9 Millionen Stück zurückgingen (Vorjahr: 8,5 Mio. Stück), legte der Vertragsbestand leicht zu und stieg gegenüber dem Vorjahr auf 21,9 Mio. Stück (+1,9 Prozent). Die Bilanzsumme des Geschäftsbereichs Volkswagen Finanzdienstleistungen lag bei 225,6 Mrd. Euro (+1 Prozent, Vorjahr: 223,5 Mrd. Euro). Weltweit beschäftigen die Volkswagen Financial Services 16.558 Mitarbeiter – davon 7.472 allein in Deutschland.

Die Volkswagen Financial Services auf einen Blick

    2020 2019 %
Vertragsbestand Tsd. Stück 21.907 21.498
+1,9
     Kundenfinanzierung   6.635 6.585 +0,8
     Leasing   4.692 4.616 +1,7
     Dienstleistungen   4.811
4.464
+7,8
     Versicherungen   5.769 5.833 -1,1
Kundeneinlagen Mrd. € 27,734
31,330 -11,5
Bilanzsumme
Mio. € 225.608
223.536
+1,0
Eigenkapital Mio. € 29.406 28,428 +3,4
Eigenkapitalquote % 13,0 12,7 +2,6
Eigenkapitalrendite vor Steuern % 8,9 10,8
-17,5
Operatives Ergebnis Mio. € 2.803 2.960 -5,3
Mitarbeiter am 31.12.   16.558 16.571 -0,8

Mehr über die Volkswagen Financial Services